fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

how high?

February 9, 2011

Nah, not really. At least, not me.

If you’ve ever shopped around for a photographer (especially a wedding photographer), you will be told by a good percentage of them, “yeah, I can do that.” That is someone you should so not hire.

I always tell prospective clients that who they should hire is a person that they could feel comfortable hanging out with for the day, and someone whose style they just love. Everything else, you can work out.

My style is very collaborative. Instead of arriving with a shot list that I must.follow.exactly. I work more on the fly. No two weddings are the same…the people are different, the vibe is different. What I thought was a really great shot for Wedding A just might not work for Wedding B. That’s why I remain flexible and just go with the day; with whatever happens, whatever needs to be shot.

No waxing poetic in this post, just a little reminder as booking season heats up, that after the guests are gone, the food has been eaten, the cake has been devoured and the decorations taken down, all that’s left is you, the person you married and the photos. So make sure you choose someone whose already doing the stuff you love; not someone who can try and fake it for a few hundred dollars less. Believe me, if you do that you will really regret it. Nobody hears more horror wedding photographer stories than wedding photographers, and I’ve heard just about all of them.

So, if you tell me, “Jump!” My reply won’t be “how high?” It will be something more along the lines of, “well, instead of me jumping why don’t we try you jumping, oh, but you know what? I’ve taken a vow to never make people jump so what if I put you in this chair and you do this and you people in the back, you do that and let’s see how that looks.”

But in case you were wondering, yes, I can jump. Hella high. I just don’t take money to do it.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

This is the best advice. EVER.

sarah

February 9, 2011

I know, right?! thanks šŸ™‚

susan sabo

February 9, 2011

Yep…great advice.

David

February 9, 2011

Fine plan.

Ange

February 10, 2011

It’s the key to loving your job as well šŸ™‚

susan sabo

February 10, 2011

Excellent words of wisdom – thank you for sharing!

Allison

February 10, 2011

Great post, Susan. I just had an experience that kinda of fits this. I was really excited to talk to an older couple about shooting their wedding. I gave them a quote and they gave me a verbal agreement and I told them to check out my website and let me know if they had an questions. She tried—with a DIAL UP connection. Seriously. So she thought something was wrong with my stuff, because she couldn’t view it. She was telling me I was unprofessional (though I never claimed to be a professional) and what was wrong, in her mind, with my images. So I sent a CD hoping that would show a full array of what I do. The whole time she was very obviously fake nice to me and so when she called to say they found someone else (“granddaughter’s husband who is a professional”), I said “Good luck with that,” and hung up. Realizing that this person was going to be so rigid that we wouldn’t have a good working relationship. It would have been more of a headache than anything, so I am glad she backed off. We don’t need to be “everyone’s photographer.” I certainly don’t, anyway. I totally dig your message—we have to gel for this to work correctly.

April

February 11, 2011

