fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Bride vs. photographer

November 9, 2010

Conflict.

Nobody likes it. Everyone wants to avoid it. But it’s something that all of us encounter on a daily basis. Whether with a boss, a family member or even a client (or, in the client’s case, a vendor), or even that barista who corrects you every time you say “large” (omg. when are you going to learn it’s a Venti?).

The only other thing people avoid more than conflict is talking about the conflict.

Except for me…and, as it turns out, one of my brides.

I think conflict is not only OK to experience, it’s necessary to acknowledge, confront and resolve. Not just with friends and family but with everyone. If you think about it, accepting and resolving a conflict is one of the best ways you’re going to get to know someone better. And by resolving, I don’t mean apologize, or back off. I mean speak what’s on your mind (in a polite way, of course) and work together, you know, collaborate, on a solution.

Early on in my talks with Fisayo & Blaise, everything started out just great with hugs and squee’s and planning, and then there was a little bump in the road. Through a couple of innocent misunderstandings on both our parts, we found ourselves on opposite ends of a conflict that actually had me thinking I might not be the right photographer for their wedding.

But Fisayo & Blaise, bless their adult hearts, were open to talking it over. And we did. We talked about what our expectations had been, how we could adjust them, and how we’d like to deal with each other in the future.

And wow. Guess what happened? When we met again for their e-session, the first time we were to talk since that big, scary conflict, we greeted one another with hugs, squeezes, laughter and a new respect for one another. And, a new friendship.

All the misunderstandings cleared up, and the knowledge that we could talk things over instead of harboring questions and “meh” feelings left all of us with the wonderful freedom of just being ourselves — and I think that shows in their photos. I can’t count the number of times I heard them say that day, “this is fun!” and “I want to do this again!” Oh man, I totally heart them. πŸ™‚

How awesome is it for them to know that when their wedding day approaches, they’ll have a photographer (and friend) who will stand by their side and work with them through what is probably going to be the most hectic day of their lives. And how lucky am I to have clients who don’t put on any of the client poofy, hoo-ha act and who genuinely like me, respect me and my work, and most of all, trust me to chronicle their day.

I’m telling you, there’s something to be said for a good fight. You know, you really should try it some time.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

[heart]

sarah

November 9, 2010

I love how you turned this into a positive thing and that you were able to involve the actual client and their photos in the blog. And the photos are fabulous – no surprise.

As you said, there’s something to be said for a good fight.

Fight. Sometimes I feel I invented it.

Never give up on what’s right.

Colleen Paige

November 9, 2010

Aww Susan you have such an amazing heart! We are thankful that we are able to look back at the “situation” and smile and look ahead and see amazing wedding photo memories and even more importantly a photographer who is also a friend! We heart you too!

Fisayo & Blaise

November 9, 2010

Awww….the pictures are sooo beautiful! I can’t wait to see the rest. Great job Susan! This was a great team effort! I had fun watching these two love birds as they posed for the camera and it’s soo much more meaningful to me knowing that I remember what was said before each shot to get them to produce these beautiful shots! The best is yet to come! Love it… πŸ™‚

Bolanle Adesanya

November 10, 2010

oh, hello mrs reed πŸ™‚ right back atcha doll

colleen, thank you! I’m like you, a “let’s talk it over, hash it out and get on with our lives” kind of person πŸ™‚ I like it much better than the alternative.

Fisayo & Blaise! I’m hugging you both right now and I can’t wait to shoot your wedding πŸ™‚ xo

oh, Bolanle! Thanks for dropping by. It was wonderful to have you on the shoot, everything combined, it was just so much fun. Very much like just 2 hours of dress-up and playtime, wasn’t it? And yes, the best IS yet to come, it will be fun to see you again. πŸ™‚

susan sabo

November 10, 2010

whoa, 4 smiley faces in that reply. LOL, I got a little carried away with the happy, I think.

/consciously wanting to put a smiley here but refraining

susan sabo

November 10, 2010

Wow this is so beautiful. I love these pictures. Awesome Susan! i’m loving it.

Bimpe Jaiyeola

November 19, 2010

thanks πŸ™‚ I’m really excited about shooting their wedding!

susan sabo

November 22, 2010

I heart that top photo so much, I don’t know how to say it.

scribblegurl

December 30, 2010

