fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

my life with dogs

October 5, 2010

When I go out to a portrait session for someone with a dog, I’m interested first in the dog. I immediately drop my gear and sit on the ground near the front door and hold my hand out for the dog(s) to sniff. I don’t have my camera out, I don’t walk through the house looking for the dog, I don’t sit on the sofa (which may very well be the dog’s spot) and I don’t offer treats. I just let the dog sniff around me, my jeans and my gear, getting whiffs of my dogs and me, and discovering in what can sometimes take about 10-15 minutes that it’s probably OK to let me inside the house.

What the house looks like doesn’t really matter to me. I’m not really looking out for the best light, or the prettiest place to ask the dog to sit. I don’t ask for a particular color of blankie and I don’t bring my own blankies. Like I said, I’m interested in the dog. It’s the dog I”m coming to shoot, so I want to get to know him as well as I can in that short time. Where does the dog sleep, where does he keep his toys (he usually starts to bring them out for me after a few minutes), who does he follow around the house, where are the no-man zones, only his, that I shouldn’t stomp all over?

Once the sniffing is over and the dog has calmed and allowed me further into the house, I start to talk to the people who this dog owns and build an idea in my head about what life with this dog is like. Is it crazy, spent running through the house, tickling butts and grabbing babies? Is it mellow, stretched out on the sofa with the dog’s head resting on someone’s chest? Has the dog found a place in this human’s world, or have the humans agreed to live in the dog’s world? Those are my favorite shoots; the ones where the people aren’t the head of the house by default; the ones where dog and human coexist. Where the only rule is that you must remember that others live there.

In an environment like that, I’m taking pictures of a life—not the dog’s life, not the man’s or the woman’s life, but of their life—and what it’s like to be spent with dogs.

This shot above is me and my dogs Jack and T. Though I’ve taken lots of portraits of them since they were rescued 2 years ago; this picture depicts better than any of the rest what it’s like in my house, in our life with our dogs. This is the best that I could ever give a client of mine. A photo that, when they hold it up to the light and look at it, grin at one another, look at the dog and say, “yeah, that’s exactly right.”

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I can’t believe it’s already been 2 years since you rescued them. Have we really known each other longer than that?? lol! Wow. I love this shot just like I love all your dog photos. I wish you lived in my state (right down the street) so you could come shoot my crazy dog. Everytime I try to take her photo she wants to lick my lens! lol! Great post too! ❤

Melanie Groover

October 5, 2010

oh my gosh, I know! it seems impossible that it’s been that long. These dogs really don’t like to have their picture taken; if I lay on the floor with them and use the remote, they forget the camera is there, but I usually end up with a frame full of dog butt 🙂

susan sabo

October 6, 2010

