fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

susan vs. design project

September 29, 2010

Ugh! I cringe when I’m asked to design something for my business. Whether it’s a business card, a postcard, a flyer or the worst….an advertisement! Ack. I have a hard time thinking outside of the box, literally. My career started in magazines (the editorial and fashion side), so I’m always very conscious of things lining up, filling space, things like that. But when I try to draw on that experience to design something (seriously, even a simple business card with give me the sweats), I come up blank. Thankfully, minimalism looks good on me, so that’s where I’m headed.

Well, all my magazine experience did very little to help me design this new ad of mine. But my Facebook friends helped a lot! They gave me the idea of using just one photo for the entire 8.5″ x 11″ ad, and I have to say that I love it. In fact, I see postcards in the future. 🙂

Either way, I cannot wait to see it in print. I never get tired of seeing Pickle’s bizarre look in his eyes and Jack’s confused expression as I float up and away. Gah! I love my dogs!

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

I love this capture Susan!

Fritz

October 27, 2010

haha, thanks Fritz 🙂 I’m sitting right now with Steph, a friend who helped come up with the idea. I’m going to use it for my 2010 postcards.

susan sabo

October 27, 2010

