fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

let me take your portrait

September 13, 2010

Wedding portraits used to intimidate me…a lot. The candids and the hipshots have always been my favorites in shooting weddings, but even the craziest, offbeat bride wants some “normal” portraits for the parents & grandparents (I can’t imagine grandparents looking at my hands or feet shots and saying, “oh, those are beautiful! I’m going to put this on the mantle right now!”) 🙂

The problem with the whole fear of portraits was that I wasn’t shooting my wedding portraits the way I was shooting regular portraits. Visions of couples looking off into the future kept crowding my brain; prom shots kept coming to mind. Ack! I have yet to have a bride who’s said, “Hey! Let’s do a prom shot!” So once I just shook it off and started to shoot not just with my eye, but my heart–omg that is so corny, sorry about that–the portraits came out the way I like them to be: a sort of cross between, “wow, that’s different” and “oh, gram will love this!”

It hasn’t been even 24 hours since I shot Kiyomi & Jack’s wedding portraits, but I wanted to put this one up on the blog. It’s a really good indication of how I’m going to shoot someone on their wedding. Yeah, there are goofy shots (no jumping, though…I refuse to shoot the jumping), and there are “straighter” ones, but this style is my favorite and, I’m told, is my style.

Hope you like it.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Yeah… the jumping thing is absolutely NOT in my bag of tricks either. Ugh!

The wedding group photos remain hell for me, too, especially because I’ve always done weddings solo, and there’s virtually no time to do everything that the couple wants, much less with even a hint of creativity.

patrick

September 13, 2010

It’s great. I love the bird and the moon in the background which I didn’t notice until second look.

Sarah King

September 13, 2010

I absolutely love this shot. I love it so much I want to get married just so I have an excuse to get you to take more pictures!

Rachel R.

September 13, 2010

Patrick, what is with the jumping? I think it would be cute if it were a candid, but I don’t have it in me to set up that shot.

Sarah, thank you 🙂 the moon made a special appearance for them.

Rachel, do it! do it! do it! 🙂

susan sabo

September 13, 2010

by the way, I’m fully aware that I abuse the smiley emoticon 🙂

susan sabo

September 13, 2010

they could totally be in Scotland.
can i have one of your eyes? you have two… 😉
love. love. love.

cindi

September 13, 2010

No jumping. Ever.

Leslie F. Miller

September 13, 2010

Cindi, next, you’ll be wanting my hair! Leslie, I have a bride coming up who is trying to sneak in a jumping shot. 🙂

susan sabo

September 15, 2010

