fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

brides on film

August 11, 2010

Ok, so most of you know that most all the while I’ve been shooting with my Canon digital gear, I’ve also been shooting film on the side. When I did the Bandit Brand fashion catalog two years ago, I used a combo of digital, medium format film and polaroid. And I really liked it.

I’ve been mulling this over for awhile and have finally decided that my wedding packages are going to include the same: digital, 35mm film and polaroid. This is, I think, a great package for couples who have an artistic eye, and who know that the most expensive digital camera they make just cannot compare to the genuine, true look of film. Soft focus, sun flare, a tiny bit under or overexposed: all of these so-called “imperfections” make up what I think is so beautiful about film. It really does capture the moment. There’s no changing what it captures, there’s no revising the moment once the shutter is pressed.

I’m planning a long post about this for the future, as well as some film galleries on the site. But in the meantime, I wanted to show the film highlights of John & Dianna’s wedding. Everything that appears here was also caught digitally, but the film shots are especially relevant to this wedding in particular. True, simple, genuine and about as real as it gets.

Look for it in the future: brides on film.

For now, take a look at John & Dianna’s most precious moments.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

Oh please tell me this media mix starts now. I *adore* the look film has.

Just bought a pinhole camera for Tgurl’s birthday…can’t wait to help her use it.

The images above are dreamy….

Cyndy

August 11, 2010

haha, don’t worry, Cyndy. I had planned on the mixed media for your wedding from the start, but we’ll talk about it more over email.

susan sabo

August 12, 2010

