fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

fresh.simple.true.

the blog for susan sabo photography

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

"Yeah, I specialize in McGyver weddings"

August 4, 2010

That’s a line from my newly-updated bio page. I’ve just rewritten my bio, changed the style of all my galleries and uploaded four new ones. Oh, and renamed them. I don’t know what it is; I think the SyFy Channel’s “Dinocroc” is really motivating me or something.

Since I first started a website for my business, I’ve always gone through these angsty periods of the best way to show my work. The old way is to upload the highlights of each wedding as I complete it, giving every couple a few months in the spotlight before I switch the galleries out every 6 months or so. But I’m not digging that layout much these days.

Instead, I laid my galleries out the way I burn my DVDs: before, during and after (oh, and portraits). How simple. Der. Except I’ve renamed them (so cleverly) with the phrase that I hear most often during that time period:

Before: “Where’s my phone?” Oh man, I hear that about a thousand times in the couple hours or so that I hang out with a bunch of women who are late to something.

During: “…forsaking all others…” I think that’s a really sweet saying, and even though everyone’s ceremony is a little different, everyone manages to get that bit in.

After: “I need a drink.” Can be heard by everyone leaving the ceremony and heading to the cocktail hour.

Portraits: “Is everyone looking at me?” Yes, I say that about 20 times a minute. On average. In the end, very few people are.

So I’ve spent the last few days uploading lo-res versions of all my weddings and splitting them into those sections, then culling those photos to get the best for each gallery. Bah, I’m already starting to bore myself, so let me just tell you that although it’s changed, it’s not finished. In the upcoming weeks I’ll whittle it down a bit and add the rest of my couples (there are tons!) so visitors, meaning you, can get a really good grasp of how and what I shoot.

And the McGyver reference? Well, if you want to know what that’s about, you’re going to have to click over there and read the new bio.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

